the irresistible fleet of bicycles

the organic mechanic

1 Comment

super idea!

The Organic Mechanic – 2012 Tour

Organic farmers in the western United States:

I am currently traveling and visiting organic farms in Washington State, Oregon, and California.

At each farm, I would prefer to stay between three (3) and ten (10) days. It is preferable if you are on-site and available to spend time with me to learn about maintaining your equipment.

I am familiar with the following machines:

  • Farm tractors: Ford, John Deere, Case, International, Kubota, Massey-Ferguson, New Holland, Montana, Allied Tractor.
  • Small farm machines: lawnmowers, chainsaws, weed whackers, roll/soil tillers, small generators, power steamers, water pumps.

Farmers should prepare the following in advance of my arrival:

  • Oil (engine, transmission, hydraulic);
  • Antifreeze;
  • Grease and grease gun;
  • Lugs;
  • Oil containers;
  • Oil filters, fuel filters, and air filters; and
  • Owner’s manuals and/or service manuals/books.

I will be traveling in my camper/cargo van, so I do not require accommodations. I will need electricity, food and access to a shower.

If you are an organic farmer and interested in hosting me, please contact me as soon as possible at tykamiya [at] gmail.com, as I am planning my trip now. If a group of farmers in your area are interested, I could instead offer a group workshop if you prefer.

One thought on “the organic mechanic

  1. hmmmmm….i have a small farm in prineville, central oregon…..making cheese…..you are welcome to a hot shower and a hook up and lots of cheese……fresh milk if you get here by mid november….

    i do have an old chevy pickup that needs front end work…..

    would that qualify? i have a massey ferguson 65 and a case 580 ck…..but they are running ok…..

    always something to work on tho….as in…installing air conditioning in the dairy…..i’m pretty handy with refrigeration, you could learn something? (i use propane as the refrigerant)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 610 other followers